Richburg-Wirt Historical Society Receives Bartoo Grant

    The Allegany County Area Foundation, recently presented a check for $4,240 to the Richburg-Wirt Historical Society (RWHS). This money comes from the earnings of the Richburg-Wirt Historical Society Endowment Fund which is held and managed by the Allegany County Area Foundation. This fund was created by the estate of Beatrice S. Bartoo. It was the vision, tireless efforts and financial support of Francis and Beatrice S. Bartoo that made the Richburg-Wirt Historical Society and Museum a reality back in 2001. The earnings from this endowment fund will benefit this organization for many years to come. President Melanie Johnston said, “This money will be used to help put a new roof on our museum.”

Beatrice Bartoo was born in Olean in 1919, and graduated from the Richburg Central School. She graduated from the State University of New York at Geneseo with a degree in library science and a master’s degree in education. She went on to become a school librarian for Bolivar until her retirement in 1976.

Beatrice also served as the Town of Wirt historian, and she and her husband Francis founded the Richburg-Wirt Historical Society. Beatrice died in 2009, and in her will she left a very generous donation to create an endowment fund to benefit the Richburg-Wirt Historical Society. Each year they receive a check from the Bartoo Fund to help support their mission.

The Richburg-Wirt Historical Society Museum is located at 243 Main Street in Richburg, NY. For more information about the museum please call 585-928-9478.      The Allegany County Area Foundation holds assets of over 8.5 million dollars. The endowed funds continue to grow in perpetuity to enrich and improve the lives of Allegany County people. If you would like more information on how you can provided a legacy of hope and good will here in our county, please contact the Allegany County Area Foundation at 585-808-8444 or e-mail:

In the picture (L to R): Lori Dzielski, ACAF Board President; Lee Johnston, RWHS Trustee, Melanie Johnston, RWHS President; Laura Manners, RWHS Trustee; Dick Baker, RWHS Museum and   Denis Dahlgren, ACAF Executive Director.