Foundation Awards $125,000 in Scholarships

ANGELICA, N.Y., June 8, 2012—The Allegany County Area Foundation awarded scholarships worth a total of more than $125,000 to 68 area students and honored the educators they chose as having a significant impact on their lives at a reception held Thursday night in the Angelica Town Hall. Approximately 300 family and friends attended the event, honoring the students and their selected teachers.

            Dawn Bennett—an area veterinarian for more than 27 years and the mother of Adam Bennett, who received a scholarship—was the keynote speaker. She urged the students to enjoy their time at school and develop who they were meant to become, and then to consider returning toAlleganyCountyand contributing to life here. A lifelong resident of the area, she said that she enjoyed going away to college and then returning to “give something back.”

            During the program, the Foundation recognized Mike Kunz, who established a scholarship this year in memory of his late wife, Karen A. Kunz, who was a school business manager. “Karen was the life of the party,” he said, “she belied the image of accountants as boring bean counters.” Michael Querrieo of Portville earned the first scholarship from this fund, $500 a year for two years.

            At the reception, Carolyn Miller, president of the Foundation, and Warren Emerson, a member of the board of directors, read brief biographies of each scholarship recipient. As part of their application process each student wrote an essay about an educator who had a significant impact on the student’s life. Those teachers were invited to attend the reception and Miller and Emerson read selected excerpts from the essays.

            Before the program began, students had their pictures taken with their selected teachers and those waiting were entertained by the barbershop quartet Chorduroy. One of the members of the quartet, Peter Kurderfer, received a Daniel McCarthy scholarship to the Olean Business Institute. The Black-Eyed Susan Café in Angelica provided catering for the reception.

            The Foundation’s top scholarships, endowed by the Mary A. Bishop Scholarship Fund, went to Anthony Nichols, the valedictorian at Fillmore Central School who plans to study economics and mathematics at Yale in the fall, and to Samantha Van Etten, the valedictorian at Wellsville who is headed to the State University of New York at Buffalo to major in biomedical sciences. Each of their scholarships was for $2,000.

            The largest awards were for $8,000 per student spread over two years, from the Walter F. and Louisa A. Sibley scholarship fund. They went to Caleb Holmes, Nicole Lindberg,CourtneyMountain, Megan VanDerhorst and Ryan Webb. As per the criteria of the Sibley fund, all of the recipients are students from, or graduates of, Cuba-Rushford.

            Also receiving Sibley awards, were Brandon Clayson ($1,000), Brook Jordan ($2,000), Lacey Lancaster ($1,000), Kyle Lockwood ($1,000), Colin Loftis ($4,000), Abigail Luzier ($3,000), Emily Mueller ($3,000), Elizabeth Stengel ($2,500) and Hanah Whittaker ($2,000).

            The fund with the largest number of recipients was the Belva Waite scholarship, endowed by the late restaurant owner from Rushford. Earning $1,000 scholarships from this fund were: Jacob Boll, Katherine Brauscheidel, Sharon Brautigam,ElizabethBridge, Josh Campbell, Elizabeth Crowe, Travis Eli, Robert Graves, Jessie Gyr, Alexander Hulin, Stephen Johnson, Tad Johnson, Megan Lindsay, Alexandra McCumiskey, Emily McCumiskey, Tali Morse, Victoria Mullen, David Roorbach, Danielle Taylor, Jennifer VanSkiver, Jarrett Vossburg, Emma Webb, Esther Webb and Tyler Whitesell.

            The Joseph W. and Inez A. Hupp Scholarship Fund endows awards for Cuba-Rushford seniors and alumni, as well. This year’s recipients were: Grace Armison ($2,000), Ellen Bagley ($1,000), Caryl Coch ($1,000), Jennifer James ($2,000), Shelby Stevens ($1,000), Vanessa Sweet ($2,000) and Hannah White ($2,000).

            Recipients of McCarthy scholarships, in addition to Kurzderfer, were Trishia Priest and Cynthia Sweet. Each was for $1,000.

            Four students received awards from the Foundation’s general scholarship fund: Kali Beardsley ($500), Adam Bennett ($1,200), Skyler Majot ($1,200) and Noah McNeill ($1,200).

            The Edward Brewster Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded three scholarships this year, to Emily Brubaker ($2,000), Emily Erdman ($1,000) and Marcus Schoen ($2,000).

            The Dresser-Rand Scholarship Fund also endowed three scholarships, to dependents of employees of the company. This year’s recipients were Kristina Chalker, Adrian Perry and Nathan Wieszczyk, who each received $2,000.

            The Kirby L. Jensen Memorial Scholarship Fund endowed a pair of $700 scholarships, to Jessica DeJonge and Emma Jackson.

            Other scholarship funds and their recipients included:

            The Lois M. Lilly Fund—Kourtnie Franklin ($1,000),

            The Greg and Ella Shear Fund—Brittany Windus ($2,000),

            The William F. Farnsworth Memorial Fund—Danielle Broughton ($1,000),

            The Joseph E. Presutti Memorial Fund—Brianna Presutti ($400), and

            The George and Irene Fisk Memorial Fund—Myriah Tavano ($500).